Top of Free Internet Radio content area


  • The Shins are an American indie rock band from Albuquerque, New Mexico, formed in 1996
  • The band consists of James Mercer (vocals, guitar), Joe Plummer (drums), Jessica Dobson (guitar), Yuuki Matthews (bass) and Richard Swif
  • The band are currently based in Portland, Oregon
  • The Shins began in 1996 as a side project for singer/songwriter James Mercer, whose primary band was Flake Music in Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Mercer formed Flake Music in 1992 with Neal Langford on guitar, Phil Higgs and then Marty Crandall on bass, and Jesse Sandoval on drums
  • During the next 5 years Flake Music released several singles, a full-length album, and began touring largely due to the help of other bands like Modest Mouse
  • In 1996, Mercer began writing what would eventually become The Shins' first record
  • Flake Music came to an end around this time leaving Mercer with an opportunity to record, "Nature Bears A Vacuum" a 7" EP released by Omnibus Records
  • For their earliest shows, The Shins performed as a duo with Mercer recruiting Sandoval to play drums
  • "Nature Bears A Vacuum" was released with no expectations of expanding the band's following beyond Albuquerque
  • However, the single generated enough attention that Mercer felt it necessary to assemble a full band
  • Martin Crandall was brought into the fold on keyboards, and Dave Hernandez (frontman of local punk legends Scared of Chaka, which had played dozens of shows with Flake Music) was given bass duties
  • After a year as this lineup, during which half the songs on debut album "Oh, Inverted World" (including "New Slang") were penned, Hernandez moved to New York City
  • Neal Langford was selected as his replacement, and it was this lineup that saw the group embark on a tour with Modest Mouse


Simple Song

Members of this Group






There are currently no comments.
Share Shins! Tell your friends about Shins on 977music - share the joy of on-demand artist playlists!