Top of Free Internet Radio content area


San Jose, California, United States (1994 – present)

Smash Mouth is an alternative rock band from San Jose, California, United States that formed in 1994, the band comprises Steve Harwell (lead vocalist), Greg Camp (guitarist/songwriter), Paul De Lisle (bassist), and new drummer since early 2006, Jason Sutter (replacing Michael Urbano, who left due to creative differences). Their hit songs include “Walkin’ On The Sun” (1997) and “All Star” (1999).

Focused at times playing “neo-ska” music, the band has adopted retro styles spanning several decades of popular music, as well as performing covers of popular songs such as The Monkees’ “I’m a Believer” and War’s “Why Can’t We Be Friends” as well as cult favorites such as ? and the Mysterians’ “Can’t Get Enough of You Baby” (though their version owes more to The Colourfield’s interpretation; in fact, the band at first believed it was a Colourfield original). Smash Mouth’s first album Fush Yu Mang came out in June 1997. This album could be said to be “neo ska”. Its top position in the charts was #19 (on Billboard). The promo for this album said that “While the twelve songs on Fush Yu Mang sound like they belong side by side, each has it’s own feeling like the very ‘60’s “Walkin’ On The Sun,” the surf ‘n’ turf of “Nervous In The Alley,” the Buzzcocks like “Pet Names,” the Mafia rock of “Padrino,” and the fret rock of “Let’s Rock”.

Smash Mouth is an American rock band from San Jose, California. The band was formed in 1994, and was originally composed of Steve Harwell (vocals), Kevin Coleman (drums), Greg Camp (guitar), and Paul De Lisle (bass). They are known for such songs as "Walkin' on the Sun" (1997) and "All Star" (1999).

The band has adopted retro styles covering several decades of popular music. They have also performed numerous covers of popular songs, including the Monkees' "I'm a Believer", War's "Why Can't We Be Friends?", Simple Minds' "Don't You (Forget About Me)", Question Mark & the Mysterians's "Can't Get Enough of You Baby", the Beatles' "Getting Better" and Disney's "I Wan'na Be Like You".

The group formed in San Jose, CA. They were influenced by the Beach Boys and Dick Dale.
They performed the remake of "I'm A Believer" from the 2001 movie Shrek. "I'm A Believer" was actually written by Neil Diamond.
Before they signed a record deal, they got a break when their demo track "Nervous in the Alley" got airplay on San Jose's KOME radio. After releasing their self-recorded debut album Fush Yu Mang, Harwell delivered it to a friend at KROQ radio in Los Angeles. Within hours, KROQ added "Walkin' on the Sun," and the song rocketed to #4 on that night's countdown.
The 1999 Astro Lounge album established the group as a success. The song "All-Star" topped three national radio charts and hit #4 on Billboard's perennial Hot 100.
They're named after Mike Ditka's term for a no mercy style of football: "smash mouth football." Coleman wanted to call the group "Smash Mouth au GoGo," but was vetoed by the rest of the band.
They appeared in the movie Rat Race, where they sung "All Star" towards the end of the movie.

90's Hits

All Star
Walkin' on the Sun

Members of this Group









There are currently no comments.
Share Smashmouth! Tell your friends about Smashmouth on 977music - share the joy of on-demand artist playlists!