Top of Free Internet Radio content area

Butthole Surfers

  • Butthole Surfers (also referred to as simply "The Buttholes") is an American alternative rock band formed by Gibby Haynes and Paul Leary in San Antonio, Texas in 1981.
  • The Buttholes are best known for their black humor, a sound that incorporates elements of punk rock, psychedelia, heavy metal, noise rock, and electronica, as well as their use of sound manipulation and tape editing.
  • Acclaimed for their chaotic live shows, the Buttholes have a well-reported appetite for recreational drugs, particularly psychedelics, an evident influence on their sound.
  • The band did not begin as the Butthole Surfers, although they did have a song of that title, possibly an early version of 1984's "Butthole Surfer". This changed at their first paid concert, when an announcer forgot what the band was called and used the song title for the group’s name. They decided to keep the moniker, and have largely been billed as such ever since.
  • In 1996, Capitol released the Surfers' only gold record to date, Electriclarryland, which climbed to number 31 on the Billboard 200; the single “Pepper” topped the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart.



Members of this Group




mr mustang





There are currently no comments.
Share Butthole Surfers! Tell your friends about Butthole Surfers on 977music - share the joy of on-demand artist playlists!