Top of Free Internet Radio content area


Wauchope, New South Wales, Australia (1977 – present)

Australian new wave band Icehouse was formed in 1977, initially called ‘Flowers’, by Iva Davies (born Ivor Arthur Davies, on 22 May 1955, in Wauchope, New South Wales, Australia). Inspired by art rock and avant-garde pop, Davies was the main creative force behind the band, being a classically trained musician. Band member Keith Welsh joined him on bass. For a number of years they also obtained the services of Bob Kretschmer, until he was replaced by young guitarist Paul Gildea.

Since 1980, Icehouse has released seven albums, several compilations, and music from collaborations with other artists including dance companies. Their 1987 album ‘Man of Colours’ was released at the apex of their fame and international success. It is considered by many to be the band’s magnum opus.

As ‘Flowers’, Icehouse built up a strong following as a live act around Sydney, Australia, noted for their distinctive cover versions of songs by a wide range of acts including T-Rex and Brian Eno. After signing to the independent Regular Festival Records label, they released their debut single, “Can’t Help Myself”, which hit the Australian Top 10 in June 1980. This was followed by their first album ‘Icehouse’, which also made the Top 10 and became one of year’s biggest selling albums in Australia. The album made use of synthesisers, especially the Sequential Circuits Prophet 5.

Icehouse is an Australian rock band, formed as Flowers in 1977 in Sydney. Initially known in Australia for their pub rock style, they later achieved mainstream success playing new wave and synthpop music and attained Top 10 singles chart success in both Europe and the U.S. The mainstay of both Flowers and Icehouse has been Iva Davies (singer-songwriter, record producer, guitar, bass, keyboards, oboe) supplying additional musicians as required. The name Icehouse, which was adopted in 1981, comes from an old, cold flat Davies lived in and the strange building across the road populated by itinerant people.

Davies and Icehouse extended the use of synthesizers particularly the Sequential Circuits Prophet-5 ("Love in Motion", 1981), Linn drum machine ("Hey Little Girl", 1982) and Fairlight CMI (Razorback trailer, 1983) in Australian popular music. Their best known singles on the Australian charts were "Great Southern Land", "Hey Little Girl", "Crazy", "Electric Blue" and "My Obsession"; with Top Three albums being Icehouse (1980, as Flowers), Primitive Man (1982) and Man of Colours (1987).

Icehouse's iconic status was acknowledged when they were inducted into the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) Hall of Fame on 16 August 2006.[9] ARIA described Icehouse as "one of the most successful Australian bands of the eighties and nineties... With an uncompromising approach to music production they created songs that ranged from pure pop escapism to edgy, lavish synthesised pieces..." Icehouse has produced eight Top Ten albums and twenty Top Forty singles in Australia, multiple top ten hits in Europe and North America and album sales of over 28 times Platinum in Australasia alone. As of 2006, Man of Colours was still the highest selling album in Australia by an Australian band.

An Australian band who had a hit in 1987 with "Electric Blue."
Took their name from their second album, called "Icehouse" in 1981. They were previously called "Flowers" from 1979-1981, but had to change their name because of legal action by a US band of the same name.
In Australia, an icehouse is slang for an insane asylum.


80's Hits

Electric Blue

Members of this Group










There are currently no comments.
Share Icehouse! Tell your friends about Icehouse on 977music - share the joy of on-demand artist playlists!