Top of Free Internet Radio content area

Kenny Loggins

  • Kenneth Clark "Kenny" Loggins (born January 7, 1948 in Everett, Washington) is an American singer and songwriter best known for a number of soft rock and adult contemporary hit singles beginning in the 1970s. Originally a part of the duo Loggins and Messina, he has also recorded as a solo artist and written hit songs for other artists.
  • Loggins continued his career in the 1970s. After attracting the attention of fellow singer-songwriter Jim Messina, the two began a duo career as Loggins and Messina, which lasted until 1976. In 1977, Loggins went on to produce his first solo album, Celebrate Me Home, which included the hit "I Believe In Love," originally sung by Barbra Streisand in A Star Is Born. Nightwatch, a popular album released in 1978, included the hit "Whenever I Call You Friend", a duet with Stevie Nicks of Fleetwood Mac. He followed this in 1979 with Keep the Fire.
  • Loggins also wrote the song "What a Fool Believes" with Michael McDonald. Each man recorded his own version of the song, with McDonald's recording his version as a member of The Doobie Brothers. Loggins's version was released first, but The Doobie Brothers' version became better known, as it went to #1 on the pop charts. In 1980, Loggins and McDonald received a Grammy nomination for Song of the Year for "What a Fool Believes".
  • In 1979, Loggins and McDonald wrote "This Is It" which Loggins wrote for his ailing father who had to choose between life and death. The song earned Loggins a Grammy for Best Male Pop Vocal.
  • Solo career
  • Over the next decade, Loggins recorded many hit songs for movie soundtracks. This began with "I'm Alright" (peaked at #7 in the U.S.), "Mr. Night" and "Lead the Way" from Caddyshack. Hits followed with "Footloose" and "I'm Free (Heaven Helps the Man)" from Footloose, "Meet Me Halfway" from Over the Top, "Danger Zone" and "Playing With the Boys" from Top Gun. Loggins also performed "Nobody's Fool" from the unsuccessful movie Caddyshack II. He also performed as a member of USA for Africa on the famine-relief fundraising single "We Are the World".
  • In the 1990s, Loggins continued his album career, including the popular 1994 children's album Return to Pooh Corner, which included the title single, a reworking of "House at Pooh Corner" written for his newborn son Luke.
  • In 1991, Loggins recorded and produced Leap of Faith, an important album in his career featuring the hit "Conviction of the Heart." Former vice president Al Gore billed this song as "the unofficial anthem of the environmental movement." On Earth Day in 1995, Loggins performed at The National Mall in Washington, D.C. for a live audience of 500,000.

80's Hits

Danger Zone
I'm Alright
This Is It


Celebrate Me Home
Some Children See Him

Members of this Group










There are currently no comments.
Share Kenny Loggins! Tell your friends about Kenny Loggins on 977music - share the joy of on-demand artist playlists!